Do-It-Yourself eBook Cover Design

In an experiment today, I found that, in a pinch, I could design my own eBook covers for upload on the Amazon Kindle, Barnes and Noble Nook and Smashwords.com publishing sites, using Microsoft PowerPoint.

It is no big deal. If I can do it, anybody can do it! Here is how:

On your start menu, click on Microsoft Works. On the MS Works Menu, click on PowerPoint 2007.

When you get to MS PowerPoint 2007, click on the design tab. On the Design menu, click on Slide Orientation, then on Portrait icon.

Next, click on the Insert tab, then on on the Picture icon. Then, in the Pictures Library, locate and upload the .jpg image for your cover.

In the Picture Tools mode that opens when you upload the image, you can “bleed” the photo off the edge of the cover by dragging the boxes on each side of the photo to the edges. When you click on the image, PowerPoint goes into Picture Tools mode.

When you click the Format tab in the Picture Tools mode, it offers many other tools to help you to work with your photo. If you want it to be background for your book title and author name, click on “Send to Back” in the Arrange section of the Format tab. Then text boxes will appear to let you format your title, author name and subtitle text. The text boxes are movable.

At this point, click on the Design tab to choose your text Theme.

For the fonts, I chose the Office Classics theme, which features Arial heads and New Times Roman text styles, after clicking the “Fonts” button to the far right of the Themes section. I chose to use New Times Roman all caps for my title and subtitle, and New Times Roman, caps and lower case for my author name.

To make them stand out against the busy background, in the Home tab, I chose the white color for the title and subtitle font, then superimposed the bright yellow over it. In the lower text box for my author name, I chose again the white color, then superimposed a bright red color over it.

To convert the MS PowerPoint slide into a .jpg image, after saving my slide as a PowerPoint file, I clicked the file orb in the top left-hand corner and selected “Save As”. When the “Save As” box opened, I move down the menu to the last choice, “Other Formats”, and when it opened, I clicked the downward arrowhead to the far right of the “Save as Type” box, and changed it from “PowerPoint Presentation” by scrolling down to “JPEG File Interchange Format”. Then I clicked on the “Save” button, and when asked if I wanted to save this slide or all slides, I clicked on “Save this Slide”. My cover art now was saved as a .jpg image.

Here’s how it turned out:

9 thoughts on “Do-It-Yourself eBook Cover Design

  1. Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to understand a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I think that you could do with some p.c. to pressure the message house a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I’ll definitely be back.

    • Thank you for your kind words about my post on eBook cover design. I must confess, however, I’ve not yet designed one of my own covers since I have a very talented daughter who is a graphic designer for several magazine publishers. Nor am I any kind of computer guru; just another struggling eBook author, trying to learn everything I need to know in order to publish my books.

      I apologize for not having posted very much on this blog this year. I’ve been deeply engrossed in the nitty gritty of day-to-day writing, and have been bogged down for months on how to explain the infinite perfection of the Triune God. Perhaps He is trying to tell me something: I am no Thomas Aquinas!

  2. Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    • I’ve used only two blog platforms: Google Blogger and WordPress,com. I’ve switched all my blogs from Blogger to WordPress, because WordPress’ flexibility, its larger array of blog themes and its many features, which make it easier for me to insert photos and YouTube videos into my posts. This is especially helpful in the case of my most recent blog, God Seen in His Universe, which you can find by clicking on this link:

      http://www.godseeninhisuniverse.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

